You are currently viewing Apocryphal

Originally called POST AT FUNERALS, the band started out as a trio in September 1992. POST AT FUNERALS got a new start with the arrival of Ludovic in early 1993.

In 1994 they found their current name: APOCRYPHAL. The songs with death metal, atmospheric and progressive influences were ready to be recorded. Before the final mixes, Eric joined the band and added all the keyboard parts that were useful for the existing songs. In December 1995 “From Depths“, the first demo of the band, was released and had a little success thanks to many good reviews in magazines and also many radio diffusions. At the end of 1995 Sylvain arrived to complete the line-up. During this time the band was on stage and created new songs with more depth and maturity.

APOCRYPHAL were ready to record these new songs with the length of an album. During the recordings, TiphaineDo(e)‘s vocalist, helped the band to give all the power they needed.

In the middle of 1999 “Black Dreams Of Silence” was released.

Time has passed, Ludovic left the band and was replaced by Chris in 2008.

Since the release of “Black Dreams Of Silence“, APOCRYPHAL has continued to rehearse and write songs, just for fun, without doing anything with them.

But in 2022, after a long silence, the band decided to record a new LP. All they needed was a singer to complete the line-up and take this LP to another level.
Finally, the mighty Bjorn « Speed » Strid completed the line-up and recorded the vocals for the upcoming album, which will be released this year.

Now that the new album is fully mixed and mastered, with cover artwork by Valnoir of Metastazis, APOCRYPHAL are very proud and excited to have signed a deal with THE CIRCLE MUSIC to release these ten melodic death metal songs worldwide!


Didier MAURICE – Guitars 

Stéphane MAURICE – Drums

Sébastien Bazille – Bass guitar

Sylvain CHAMPENOIS – Guitars

Bjorn “Speed” STRID – Vocals